London general election 2019 update

  • Latest news

Following the 12 December General Election, London has thirteen new MPs – many of whom have strong local government connections and experience.

Dr Michelle Drage, Londonwide LMCs’ Chief Executive, will be writing to all London MPs in the New Year to congratulate them, warn them of the pressures primary care is facing in the capital and invite them to meet GPs and other practice staff in their constituency.

London results

As in 2017, Labour holds 49 of the 73 constituencies, the Conservatives 21 and the Lib Dems three.

Seats which changed parties

Conservative gains were in Kensington, regaining a previously safe seat by only 150 votes, and in Carshalton & Wallington, where it defeated Lib Dem MP Tom Brake who had held the seat for 22 years.

The only Lib Dem gain was in Richmond Park, where Sarah Olney, who held the seat briefly after a 2016 by-election, regained it by defeating Tory Zac Goldsmith, an ardent Brexiteer in a pro-Remain constituency.

Labour’s gain was in marginal Putney, where Fleur Anderson won by 4,774 votes after the previous MP, former Tory cabinet minister Justine Greening, stood down. The party also regained three seats held by independent MPs previously elected as Labour MPs were retained/ regained by Labour Party candidates in Enfield North, Ilford South and Streatham.

Carshalton and WallingtonElliot Colburn (Conservative) was elected, replacing Tom Break (Lib Dem).ex
Enfield NorthFeryal Clark (Labour) was elected, replacing Joan Ryan (Independent Group for Change), who stood down before the election.ex
Ilford SouthSam Tarry (Labour) was elected, replacing Mike Gapes (Independent Group for Change).ex
PutneyFleur Anderson (Labour) was elected, replacing Justine Greening (Independent), who stood down before the election.ex
KensingtonFelicity Buchan (Conservative) was elected, replacing Emma Dent-Coad (Labour).ex
StreathamBell Ribeiro-Addy (Labour) was elected, replacing Chuka Umunna (Lib Dem), who switched to unsuccessfully contest Cities of London and Westminster.ex
Richmond Park*Sarah Olney (Lib Dem) was elected, replacing Zack Goldsmith (Conservative).ex


Seats with MPs standing down

Of the eight seats with MPs who stood down and did not seek re-election, six were retained by the outgoing party with only two changing colour – Enfield North, where Feryal Clark MP (Labour) replaced Joan Ryan MP (ex Labour but Independent Group for Change at the time of the election); and Putney, where Fleur Anderson MP (Labour) was elected, replacing Justine Greening (ex Conservative, but Independent at the time of the election).

Cities of London and WestminsterNickie Aiken (Conservative) was elected, replacing Mark Field (Conservative).
Vauxhall Florence Eshalomi (Labour) was elected, replacing Kate Hoey (Labour).
Erith and ThamesmeadAbena Oppong-Asare (Labour) was elected, replacing Teresa Pearce (Labour).
Ealing NorthJames Murray (Labour) was elected, replacing Stephen Pound (Labour).
Enfield NorthFeryal Clark (Labour) was elected, replacing Joan Ryan (Independent Group for Change), who stood down before the election.
Poplar and LimehouseApsana Begum (Labour) was elected, replacing Jim Fitzpatrick (Labour).
PutneyFleur Anderson (Labour) was elected, replacing Justine Greening (Independent), who stood down before the election.
Twickenham*Munira Wilson (Lib Dem) was elected, replacing Sir Vince Cable (Lib Dem).


New MPs with NHS and local government knowledge/connections

A number of the new London intake are ex Councillors, with professed knowledge of/affinity to the NHS.

  • Nickie Aiken MP was a Councillor in Westminster, and Leader of Westminster City Council since January 2017. She is married to civil servant Alex Aiken, the UK Government’s communications chief.
  • Fleur Anderson MP was a Councillor in Wandsworth.
  • Feryal Clark MP was a Councillor and Deputy Mayor in Hackney.
  • Elliot Colburn MP was a Councillor in Sutton.
  • Florence Eshalomi MP was a local councillorin Lambeth for 12 years and an elected Member of the GLA since 2018.
  • James Murray MP was previously Deputy Mayor for Housing for London Mayor Sadiq Khan.
  • Abena Oppong-Asare MP was a Councillor in Bexley.
  • Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP was previously Chief of Staff for Rt Hon Diane Abbott MP and has a BScin Biomedical Science with Ethics & Philosophy of Science and an MA in Medical Law & Ethics from Queen Mary, London.
  • Munira Wilson MP was previously a Councillor in Twickenham and has worked in government and public affairs for pharmaceutical companies Merck Group and Novartis and for NHS Digital.

*Richmond Park and Twickenham are not constituencies within the Londonwide LMCs’ area.

National Picture

The Conservative Party won a landslide victory securing 365 seats out of 650, giving them an overall majority of 80. The Conservatives gained seats in several Labour Party strongholds in Northern England, flipping seats that were held by Labour for decades. Bishop Auckland elected a Conservative for the first time in its 134-year history as constituency. In the worst results for the party in more than 80 years, Labour lost a total of 60 seats reducing them to 202 seats, not including the Speaker, a Labour MP.

Although they increased vote share, the Liberal Democrats failed to gain the results in seats that they had hoped for: they both lost and won seats, for a net reduction of one, reducing them to 11 seats in the new Parliament.

The Scottish National Party gained 13 seats, winning 48 of the 59 seats in Scotland. The SNP’s leader Nicola Sturgeon described the result as a clear mandate to hold a new referendum for Scottish independence.

Last updated : 18 Dec 2019