PMA Excellence in Supporting Healthcare eLearning course for practice managers

  • Latest news

Excellence in Supporting Healthcare

Level 2 Competency Framework


Londonwide LMCs have teamed up with the PMA to deliver an exciting new accredited e-learning programme for practice managers.
NHS England and Health Education England have both endorsed this e-learning programme, so learners can be assured that it embodies best practice and is mapped to support the initiatives laid out in the NHS Long Term Plan.
It provides a non-clinical development opportunity equipping general practice managers with the skills to further support the clinical workforce, improve the patient experience and supports career pathways. The programme is broad-based and aims to provide a generic overview of competencies required at Level 2.
The programme has been developed to establish a level of consistency in eight key core competencies, as follows:
  1. Ethical practice
  2. Effective communication
  3. Information governance
  4. Protecting patients
  5. Motivating and supporting skills
  6. Organising and networking skills
  7. Self-awareness
  8. CQC compliance

How to enrol or find out more

If you would like to know more, please contact the PMA Team at giving your name and borough, or telephone 0330 111 6459.

What’s involved?

Once enrolled, you will be directed through a suggested sequence of modules, which can be completed in any order. Each module consists of a number of units aimed to appeal to various learning styles with a range of additional resources including reports, links to websites and useful videos.
There is an App available for phones and tablets, allowing you to work whenever and wherever are convenient for you.
You must answer the questions and achieve the pass rate to complete the modules and obtain the ILM certificate. However, you can repeat quizzes and knowledge checks as often as needed. There are no trick questions.

How long will it take to complete?

The 26 units are of varying lengths and detail and the amount of time required to complete the programme in full is dependent on your experience and knowledge of the topics. However, with this in mind, it has been found to typically take between 26-52 hours in total.

What happens next?

Once all units and knowledge checks are completed, the PMA will be notified. You will then be registered with the ILM for the Excellence in Supporting Healthcare certificate and a pdf copy will be sent to the email address used to register for the programme.
For more information, contact the PMA team at and have a look at this short video.

Excellence in Supporting Healthcare Certificate from Practice Managers Association on Vimeo.

Last updated : 29 Jan 2020